Today I am Going to Fly

Some men are born posthumously. ~Nietzsche

I am employable

Posted by penuruloki on May 19, 2006

I finally heard back from the prison today (via snail mail), and I have a job. I don’t start training until June 5th. but the hiring process is complete, so I can claim the job as mine.

For a point of reference, realize that I haven’t had a real job since I was laid off in the wake of 9/11. That means it’s been 4.5 years since I’ve had actual employment. To be perfectly honest, I miss working. Being in school has it’s bright points, but it also has that slimy feeling of being rigged. It’s an artificial experience. It’s also hard on the bank account. It’s been a long road since I had my last job, but I’m really looking forward to working again. I’m also looking forward to being back in control of my financial situation.

I’m not done with school yet, and I’m not giving up on my education. I’m going to try to squeeze in a class or two in the Fall/Spring, and I should still be able to finish up in a year or so. I’ll earn my degree yet. I just don’t feel the need to participate in the rest of the “college experience” anymore. I’ve tried both, and I think the working world is more attractive.

2 Responses to “I am employable”

  1. Sam Geller said

    Congratulations! You are still going to do some parties/play D&D with us next year, right?

  2. Penuruloki said

    That’s never going to change. 🙂 I’ll just have to be careful about scheduling.

Leave a Reply

 
