Today I am Going to Fly

Some men are born posthumously. ~Nietzsche

I am still alive

Posted by penuruloki on June 14, 2006

Having worked for the prison for a week and a half, I’m sure my silence has been interpreted as a sign of my timely demise. Well you can quit celebrating because I am still here. I’m still in acadamy, so I really haven’t had any opportunities to get myself killed.

Acadamy sucks. Some of the material is actually very interesting/useful, but sitting in a folding chair for almost 8 hours a day reading and taking notes just reminds me of exactly why I wanted a break from school in the first place. I recognize that I’m not ready to hit the floor yet, but the overwhelming feeling is that I spend 8 hours each day learning 2 hours worth of material so that corporate can say I trained for 8 hours.

The worst part is that because we have multiple teachers, with new ones each day for different subjects, I’ve had to do the “two minute interview” thing many times. Every teacher wants to go around the room and learn everyone’s name, etc. when we’re been in class over a week already. The repetitive activities and anecdotes is matched only by the time I had a professor repeat a whole lecture because he didn’t realize he’d given it before.

I still think I’ll like the job, but I’ll have to survive academy first. The anecdotes were great last week, but by now I’ve heard them before and just want to get on with it. The biggest bright spot is that my academy class is lively enough to enjoy talking with them every day. It’s a great group to work with.

Leave a Reply

 
